The Ghosts of Dedap Road – 3

25 03 2009

My bed was made and I was dressed in seconds. Sadie gave me a pleading look as I started for the door. I paused. “Two minutes, but hurry!” I said checking my watch. That watch had been my Christmas gift last year. I’d begged my parents and Santa for it all year. It made me feel grown-up so I took advantage of every excuse to check the time. Sadie was usually agonizingly slow in the mornings. But today neither of us wanted to be alone in our bedroom.
I was the youngest of three kids, but no one ever believed that. Sadie was a year older than me but sometimes acted like she was five years old and other times acted like the smartest person in the world. It was confusing when people saw us together because I treated her like she was my little sister. She needed me to take care of her at school. I knew that she was much smarter than I was, but she was a bit strange which made her a magnet for bullies.
My parents had spent a lot of time going to hospitals with Sadie since we moved to Singapore five years ago. Sometimes she would go on trips back to the states with mom while dad stayed and took care of Clem and me. When she came home she described the rooms in detail where they hooked machines up to her brain and watched her think about things. I didn’t know that was possible. Clem, my older brother, said they couldn’t see her thoughts, just the patterns her brain makes when she thinks. He said the brain gives off electricity when it thinks and that the machines read the electricity in waves. I wondered why Sadie’s electricity was more interesting than everyone else’s.
I always asked her about the snow when she came back from the United States. She told me once that it coated everything: the trees, the houses, the streets and even the cars making everything look like it was made of sparkling sugar candy. I couldn’t imagine anything more beautiful. I knew she wasn’t lying because Sadie never made things up. I’d seen snow in pictures and movies and mom kept telling me I’d actually played in it in Colorado before we moved to Singapore, but I was too young to remember. I wanted to see it for myself though. I wanted to see real snow so badly, it was an ache in me.

Actions

Information

3 responses

25 03 2009
La Vida Loca

I can identify w/ wanting to see snow so bad. And then I did. Drove in it, too.
Then I wanted to run far, far away from it. And so I did.

25 03 2009
Broom

Snow sucks, but as a kid I could not wait to play in it. Careful what you wish for, I guess.

26 03 2009
Ra

you write so well, glad you took the plunge and put this online

Leave a Reply

